Thursday, July 17, 2008

Millersville Tuition to Rise 3.5% for 2008-2009

The Patriot-News of Harrisburg reported, late Thursday morning, that the Board of Governors of the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education (PASSHE) has approved a 3.5% tuition hike for the commonwealth's 14 state-owned universities.

"The yearly [undergraduate] tuition will rise to $5,358, an increase of $181," writes reporter Jan Murphy.

She goes on to report that tuition hikes in the past three years have all been under three percent.

The report indicates that the mandatory technology fee is also being increased from $175 to $181.

In a press release, PASSHE states that "for the fourth year in a row, the increase will be below the rate of inflation."

The release also notes, "The resident graduate tuition rate in 2008-09 will be $6,430, an increase of $216. Nonresident graduate tuition will increase by $344, to $10,288."

Despite rising cost pressures, PASSHE has been able to hold tuition increases to about half the average imposed by public universities and university systems across the United States over each of the last five years," the release states.

“PASSHE has been able to keep tuition increases to a minimum while continuing to enhance the quality of education our students receive,” said Chancellor John C. Cavanaugh.

The Board of Governors also finalized PASSHE’s nearly $1.4 billion 2008-09 operating budget. PASSHE will receive $498.5 million from the Commonwealth to support its basic operations this year, an increase of $14.5 million, or 3 percent more than it received in 2007-08. The State System also will receive an additional nearly $21 million in separate funding to help support a variety of special programs, including performance funding, diversity initiatives and teacher excellence."

The state-owned universities are Bloomsburg, California, Cheyney, Clarion, East Stroudsburg, Edinboro, Indiana, Kutztown, Lock Haven, Mansfield, Millersville, Shippensburg, Slippery Rock, and West Chester Universities of Pennsylvania. The system also operates a number of other regional centers and branch campuses.