Friday, October 31, 2008

Morris designates LCCCA nominating committee

At Thursday's LCCCA board meeting, Chairman Art Morris announced that a three-member nominating board will meet in late December to select officers for the upcoming year.

A specific date has not yet been set.

The three-member board will be chaired by Sharron Nelson and will also include Julianne Dickson and Laura Douglas.

There was some confusion during the nominating process last year when member Ted Darcus suggested that the chairman (Tom LeCrone) was not allowed to nominate. LeCrone had nominated Laura Douglas for chair.

Morris said that he appointed the three-member committee but that rules concerning the procedure would be up to Nelson.

Nelson was not present at Thursday evening's meeting.

A brief construction update was also given, with Steve Houser reporting that $74 million has been expended on the Hotel & Convention Center to date.